Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

City Hall Legislative Day

City Officials Brief Legislators on Local Priorities

Post Date:12/05/2017 12:24 PM

The 18th Annual City Hall Legislative Day will be held Tuesday, December 12, 2017 in the Council Chambers, City Hall, 405 6th Street. Breakfast will begin at 8:30 a.m. with the agenda starting at 9:00 a.m. The City Council and City staff will be meeting with Senator Rick Bertrand and Representatives Chris Hall and Timothy Kacena to discuss local legislative priorities. Among the various topics to be discussed will be issues regarding economic progress and public safety. Other issues of local importance will also be brought to the table. 

City Hall Legislative Day provides a forum for cities and lawmakers to come together to share ideas and City perspectives. The annual event fosters cooperation and understanding between state and local officials on issues that impact cities. For more information please contact the City Manager’s office at 279-6136.


City Hall Legislative Day Agenda
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
City Hall, Council Chambers

9:00 a.m.   Welcome and Introductions – Mayor Bob Scott

9:10 a.m.    Property Tax Reform – Mayor Bob Scott and Finance Director Donna Forker
9:20 a.m.    Emergency Medical Services Levy – Councilmember Rhonda Capron, Finance Director Donna Forker, Fire Chief Tom Everett 

9:30 a.m.    Targeted Jobs – Mayor Pro-Tem Dan Moore and Economic Development Specialist Chris Myres  
9:40 a.m.    Skilled Workforce Shortage – Councilmember Pete Groetken and Economic Development Director Marty Dougherty  
9:50 a.m.    Iowa Workforce Housing Tax Credit – Councilmember Alex Watters and Community Development Operations Manager Jeff Hanson  
10:00 a.m. Historic Tax Credits – Mayor Bob Scott and Economic Development Specialist Renae Billings 

10:10 a.m. Chapter 400/Civil Service - Preserve and Streamline – Councilmember Pete Groetken and Human Resources Director Janelle Bertrand 

10:20 a.m.  Metro League Priorities - Mayor Bob Scott
10:30 a.m.  General Discussion 
10:45 a.m.  Adjourn 

Return to full list >>