Mayor's Youth Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Mayor's Youth Commission LogoWelcome to Sioux City's Mayor's Youth Commission Online!

The mission of the Mayor’s Youth Commission is to explore, communicate, and provide for the needs, problems, issues, and activities affecting the city’s youth.


  • Youth make a positive impact in their community and feel valued.
  • Youth develop to their full potential.
  • Youth attending leadership sessions increase knowledge and skills.
  • Youth participating in community service and activities feel they have made a positive contribution to their community.


2020 MYC Executive Council
Officers and Department Chairs


Areeha Ilyas, North High School

Mayor Pro Tem

Sarah Jabre, Bishop Heelan

Administrative Services Director

Isabel Martinez, Bishop Heelan

Finance Director

Jake McGowan, Bishop Heelan

Legal Director

Estella Ruhrer-Johnson, East High School

Young Ambassador Co-Directors

Kaleb French, West High School
Sydney Helt, East High School
Lorena Perales, East High School
Jackson Wagner, North High School

Hospitality Co-Directors

Anna Erickson, Bishop Heelan High School
Emily Hodge, North High School
Christopher Knechel, West High School

Project Directors:

  Bishop Heelan High School

Gabby Garcia
Lizbeth Garcia
Alexandra Johnson
Alexandra Kleinschmit

East High School

Owen Hoak
Myanna Parker
Karlie Stoos

North High School

  Emma Gross
Isabele Raveling

West High School

Iris Engelhardt
Katie Mahnke